Brainstorming By Yourself… !

Standard

This article begins with probably the most appropriate quote out there to describe brainstorming: “Brainstorming alone often feels, to paraphrase Churchill, like standing in a bucket and trying to lift yourself by the handles.” This is how I so often feel when I try to brainstorm. Or that I am standing in a bucket and try to lift myself by the handles and the bottom of the bucket gives way. And so I was drawn to the article that would teach me how to effectively brainstorm by myself.

I really struggle with brainstorming; I think I am too critical of my ideas too early on in the process. I find it hard turn off the left side of my brain and just let the ridiculous ideas out. There were several points in this article that I found extremely helpful to keep brainstorming in perspective.

My favourites were #3 and #4; essentially that you shoudln’t judge your ideas too early, brainstorming is about quantity not quality, and go wacky!

Some other great ones (they all were really, but I’m not going to post them all) were to ‘stuff yourself’; feed your brain with constant ideas, information, images, etc. It will be harder for you to not come up with an idea when you have so much to draw from.

Also, you should make a little time every day to just come up with ideas. Brainstorm when you don’t have a deadline. Brainstorm for the sake of brainstorming. Make a brainstorming appointment and make it short and furious. The more ideas you come up with the more likely it is you will have a great one!

* I couldn’t find HOW Magazine so I used an article from their website.

One response »

  1. “‘stuff yourself’; feed your brain with constant ideas, information, images, etc. It will be harder for you to not come up with an idea when you have so much to draw from.”

    YES! This is exactly the reason I assigned the SOURCERY work. Try not to be critical of your ideas during brainstorming–it takes the fun out of it.

Leave a Reply

